Pedestrian Safety Task Force

The Pedestrian Safety Task Force was created by the Davidson Board of Commissioners in Summer 2021 in response to the tragic pedestrian fatality that occurred on Main Street on June 17, 2021. This incident, along with previous devastating fatalities, injuries, and close calls, served as a catalyst for the town board to call for a task force to look specifically at pedestrian safety, namely pedestrian and vehicle conflicts.


  1. Reviewing past progress and recommendations from previous studies, including the recently adopted Mobility Plan 
  2. Engaging with public safety and other town staff to receive valuable input 
  3. Soliciting feedback from the wider community to broaden the discussion and encourage new ideas 
  4. Identifying short-term, medium-term, and long-term goals and solutions for pedestrian safety 
  5. Providing recommendations for priority pedestrian infrastructure improvements

You can view the full Pedestrian Safety Task Force charge here.


  • Meets every Wednesday at 6:00 p.m. until further notice
  • Unless otherwise noted, meetings occur in:
    Davidson Town Hall Board Room
    216 S Main Street
    Davidson, NC 28036


  • George Berger - Mobility Plan Subcommittee         
  • John Cock - Mobility Plan Subcommittee
  • Erika Croke, secretary
  • Scott Denham, vice-chair
  • Nancy Gardner
  • Angie Grooms
  • Charlie Raynal
  • Shelli Roberts
  • Matt Santos, enforcement
  • Laura Schumacher, education
  • Heather Seagle, engineering
  • Kevin Smith
  • Letha Smith
  • Porschae Smith
  • Nicole Van Baelan
  • Val Watson
  • Connie Wessner, chair
  • Ruth Yoash-Gantz