Affordable Housing Program Information

Davidson encourages the production of affordable housing by requiring 12.5% of homes in all new developments to be affordable. With inclusionary housing, construction of low-and-moderate income housing is linked to construction of housing in the marketplace by mandating developers to provide the affordable units in an otherwise market-driven development. In doing so, inclusionary housing not only generates units affordable to low-and-moderate income families, but also provides opportunities for racial and economic integration. With inclusionary housing, affordable units are built concurrently with market-rate housing.

Goals of the Affordable Housing Program

The goals of the program are to create mixed income neighborhoods; produce affordable housing for a diverse labor force; seek equitable growth of new residents; and increase home ownership opportunities for low-and-moderate income levels.

Who Qualifies for Affordable Housing in Davidson?

Many residents are unable to afford the skyrocketing price of homes in Davidson. Residents making less than 120% of the Area Median Income (AMI) in Mecklenburg County may be eligible to purchase or rent an affordable home.   Individuals in a variety of professions may qualify, a few examples listed below:

  • Fire fighters
  • Retail sales clerks
  • Accountants
  • Teachers
  • Mail carriers
  • Police officers
  • Office workers
  • Social workers
  • Entry level professionals in other fields
  • Young adults, recent high school and college graduates

Critical Home Repair Program

The Critical Home Repair Program, in collaboration with Habitat for Humanity, provides comprehensive repairs designed to eradicate problems and extend the functional life of a home. In addition, it allows the owners to age in place in the safety and security of their own home. For more information, click here.

Developer Requirement

The requirement to provide a certain percentage of affordable housing units applies to any new development in Davidson with 2 or more residential units. This requirement applies even if the development is phased in over time. For more information, click here.