Mecklenburg Livable Communities Plan

Mecklenburg Livable Communities Plan (Collaborative Community Plan) 

Board members may recall the April 16, 2013 approval to develop a Community Sustainability Plan that included:

  • Adopting a phased approach to first create a vision framework and second to develop a measurable community plan
  • Development of citizen workgroups and robust community engagement
  • Partnership with the City of Charlotte; Towns of Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville, Matthews, Mint Hill, and Pineville; and the Foundation For The Carolinas

Oversight Committee for the Collaborative Community Plan

The Oversight Committee for the Collaborative Community Plan has been initiated (members of the Oversight Committee were announced in the June 14 Board Bulletin). The Oversight Committee has determined that the title for this initiative be the "Mecklenburg Livable Communities Plan." As a reminder, the Mecklenburg Livable Communities Plan is a joint initiative between Mecklenburg County, the City of Charlotte, surrounding towns, and the Foundation For The Carolinas to develop a unified vision that incorporates community-wide goals centered on how we live, work, and play today and into the future.

Citizen Involvement

The next step is citizen involvement. Interested Mecklenburg County residents are being asked to complete an application to serve on a workgroup for the Mecklenburg Livable Communities Plan. The Oversight Committee is seeking interested citizens who represent the diverse make-up of Mecklenburg across municipal, private, public, and institutional sectors as well as those representing our diverse population. Applications received will help determine the emphasis of each workgroup with the understanding that the interplay between economic, natural environment, and social dimensions will be the concentration of workgroup efforts. Among the numerous communication tools we will be using to reach our Mecklenburg County citizens, we hope the Board will share this opportunity for residents to become involved with their constituents.

Workgroup applications will be accepted beginning August 9, 2013, through August 30, 2013. Participants will be required to commit two hours per session once per month for 2 years. Applicants will be selected by the Oversight Committee and notified in early September 2013.

Board members who have questions should contact Interim Assistant County Manager Leslie Johnson at 704-432-0090 or via email.